Quality Standard

We use the ISO 2859 set of standards to conduct our inspections. It is a very flexible method also called AQL (Acceptable Quality Level), which determines two important elements:

  • How many samples should be inspected?
  • What is the acceptable number of defective parts for the batch being inspected?

How to choose your level of AQL?

The AQL level means the "worst tolerable level of quality," according to ISO 2859. If you want a rate of defective parts not exceeding 2%, your level of AQL is 2%. There are 3 different levels of requirements and level II is the standard. There are 3 types of defects, and for common consumer goods the limits are generally:

  •  0% for critical defects (which are a danger to the user and not in compliance with current regulations)
  •  2.5% for major defects (which affect the operation of the product or have appearance problems that can reduce sales)
  •  4% for minor defects (which do not limit the use of the product, but make it sub-standard and could affect sales)


How to read the charts?


You must first choose the number of products to be inspected, and for that you select the number for the batch in the left column of the table. If you wish to inspect a batch of 11,000 items, that’s the letter M.


Your code letter then is M, so you randomly select a batch of 315 samples out of the overall figure of 11,000.

Limits not to be exceeded for the order to be accepted are:

  •  0 critical defects
  •  14 major defects
  •  21 minor defects


Download a sample report

  (0.7MB)   (7.1MB)


More in this category: « Our rates

Our Staff

Connect with us